Archive

Archive for February 17, 2008

Franchise Spamming (It Needs To Stop) + MGS Movie?

February 17, 2008 Leave a comment

Argh, so what happens to Guitar Hero as soon as Activision gets their grubby hands on it? Spam. And much like annoying chain e-mails, this is going to piss me off. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve never been a big fan of the Guitar Hero franchise, but I’ve always thought of it as a nice option if I need to kill 5 minutes of my time.

So why would this annoy then you ask? Because NO ONE likes seeing a franchise spammed. And at the moment we have Guitar Hero 3, Guitar Hero 3: Aerosmith and Guitar Hero 4 on our menu (I think there might even be another one called Guitar Hero 3: On Tour… it wouldn’t surprise me either way)

Developers need to actually give us a chance to enjoy the full lifespan of a game before churning out a new one, 12 months is hardly enough time to get the full life of the game.

DragonBall Z, Mario Party and a lot of EA games are also guilty of this. They bring out a new entry into the franchise AT LEAST every 12 months. And its quite disgusting. I often wonder if the people who worked on that game ever get a day off. It almost seems that as soon as the game is released they are already working on the opening of the next one. Horrifying. Try something different. We get a Zelda game every 3 or 4 years. A Smash game every Nintendo console. Mario games usually come out once a Nintendo console.

Anyway, rant over. Metal Gear Solid is apparently one step closer to becoming a live action movie. Obviously there have been rumours flying around ever since Kojima mentioned it at E306. But now it appears something is coming from it. Kojima has allegedly appointed himself as Executive Producer (which is a relief) and confirmed that Uwe won’t be touching it (yay!). Heck I even heard rumours he’ll be overseeing the story writing process. Very promising. MGS has a massive chance of being the greatest video game movie to date. Main thing that remains is picking Snake. I’d love to see Viggo Mortensen play Solid Snake (which is also one person who Kojima mentioned I believe), as I think he’d do a superb job. He’s a very talented actor.

Who do you think would do a good job playing the manly Solid Snake?

See you next mission